Mac OS Tips #3 [window, defaults, wifi, mc]

This is new set of Apple, Mac OS X notes and tips, I have discovered so far.

Amazing-Tips-Tricks-for-Mac-OS-X-Yosemite

 

Small OS X notes

Finder

  • It’s silly, but I always forget this command.
    $ cd ~/myuser/myfolder/something-interesting
    $ open .
    

    This will open Finder app in Command Line.

  • Alt/Option + right arrow – will OPEN/EXPAND ALL FOLDERS in list view. Not very used by me.
  • Holding “Alt/Option” when click triangle, or use left arrow – WILL COLLAPSE ALL NESTED folders, and next time they will not opening expanded. So that if I opened a few folders, it’s better to proper collapse them (Option + left arrow). But still there should be some automated flag to disabled this silly auto collapsing.
  • Cmd + A select all files. But Option + Cmd + A – deselect all files.
  • Here, I realized, that ~/Library is by default is hidden, but in Finder on “View Options” you can enable to show it.

Maximize windows

  • Opt/Alt + green icon on window titlebar to maximize window VERTICALLY only. By default that green icons is for full-screen mode. Shift + Opt + "+" icon will maximize to maximum screen size – IT’S not full-screen mode. Resource.

Other

  • Use cmd Key To Rearrange Menu bar Icons. Resource.

 

OS X Defaults

Default system settings. I saw it a few times over the Internet, and applied a few of settings. But then I spotted on this awesome github repository “awesome-osx-command-line“. I created 2 PRs over there. And here is small gist with commands I tried and use:

OS X Clean Up

  • Some of log files, which are already archived, in gz files, can be removed (sudo needed) from these folders:
    • ~/Library/Logs => PDApp.log, ooeblib.log ???
    • /Library/Logs
    • /var/log/
  • Forgotten task to clean Microsoft Office files, now is easy to perform, following info from here: (referring to MS Office 2016 files. But in my case it was from MS Office 2011 or 2015 Preview).
  • Mac OS X Cleanup. Installed a few apps like AppZapper, AppDelete, Itrash and CleanMyMac 3. Resource [Best Free Uninstallers to remove app in OS X El Capitan].
  • Now, I finally cleared all junk (eg. applications from Triposo were uninstalled from iPhone, but were remain in cache):
    junk_on_my_mac

 

Wi-Fi monitoring

I faced with issue of frequent wi-fi connections loss. No idea why, but looks like it was old issue of MacOS or regular issue of any wifi network. So what I did so far:

  • Followed a few times of Wi-FI Diagnostic tool (Alt/Option + click on AP icon => “Open Wireless Diagnostic”).
  • Based on reports I’ve seen, I started to tail a few log files:
    cd /var/log
    tail -f wifi.log appfirewall.log system.log
    
  • Followed this apple support topic, and created wifiscript.sh and I do monitor wi-fi connection now, by myself. Not quite sure I got all sense of script, but still, it does more effect than nothing:
    $ sudo ./wifiscript.sh
    
    *** WIFI ERROR #1 DETECTED -- Trying again ***
    Sat Jan 30 02:40:28 CET 2016 via 192.168.0.12 : *** WIFI ERROR #2 DETECTED ***
       . Bringing en0 down and waiting five seconds...
       . Turning off Airport and waiting five seconds...
       . Turning on Airport and waiting five seconds...
       . Bringing en0 up and waiting five seconds...
    
    
    *** WIFI RECOVERY ATTEMPT COMPLETED ***
    
  • Installed free NetSpot application. It gives me ability to see wi-fi APs/networks with details.
  • Installed free “Who Is On My WiFi” application. And now I can see, if someone new join my network.
  • I’ve spotted on this article about wi-fi security. Despite article written for Windows user, it’s good to know, that myths can be ignored. Anyway, good article, if you are network administrator.
  • I’ve read on this page, information about channels:

    Do not change the wireless channel unless you experience interference (shown by lost connections and/or slow data transfers). Should this happen, you may need to experiment with different channels to see which is the best.

    Also, I’ve read this article [for Technicolor router]:

    You’ll need to experiment to find the channel that’s best for you. We recommend trying channels 1, 6 or 12 first.

    And this [Change Your Wi-Fi Router Channel to Optimize Your Wireless Signal]:

    Channels 1, 6, and 11 are the most common channels to choose, and most routers will use one of them as the default channel – but the general idea is to be as far away from everybody else as you can.

    So far changed from 1 to 2 to 6 and to 12. No effect.

  • Changed to new SSID with 5GHz. Not helped.

MidnightCommander is always helpful but ugly

 

Using MC, it’s always useful to selct many files, but Insert simply doesn’t exists on Mac OS :).
So, according to this resource, ^/Ctrl+T = Insert. And I verify this combination.
Good on MacOS at least, that scroll works using MC.

Also I’m struggling with look’n’feel file sizes. So I don’t get any luck with instructions from this resource.

You can adjust the displayed digits with the column size option, see the “Listing mode” section in the manual. The file to edit is ~/.config/mc/panels.ini.

Will try later.

 

 

El Capitain Broke My Developer Stuff! Here’s How to Fix It

Yes, I also had that thing. And I found this resource the most detailed, and helpful. I’ve read and tried many thing those days, but if I want to recollect what I’ve done, the resource will remind me.

 

OK with tips, waiting for MacOS Sierra 🙂

I’m looking forward to test Universal Clipboard, and I’m afraid, but I suspect, that new file system will cause dozen of bugs.

The clipboard can be shared across nearby macOS Sierra and iOS 10 devices for cut, copy and paste.

Apple released a preview of a new file system, called Apple File System (APFS). It is intended for solid-state drives and flash memory and will adopt several features found in modern file systems, such as snapshots and cloning, as well as native support for features that Apple already provides in HFS Plus through supplementary software, such as file-system encryption and trim. The file system is currently experimental and a release is planned for 2017. Apple plans to document and publish the APFS volume format.

 

Resources

Leave a Reply

